Golf Lessons Learned — SWGA R9H 2012

SWGA plays Modified 4-ball Stroke Play for all ROH & Par 3 league play. For rulings, please
make sure to assess Stroke Play Penalties for all situations.

Situation: Player A plays the wrong ball after a wayward TEE shot; “A” does not notice ball
difference until just short of the Green (same hole). The ball is not a competitor’s ball, but a
‘found’ ball.

Player A played TEE shot off to the side. “A” and an opposing team member
(Player C) went to look for the ball. “C” asked “A” what brand of ball was being
played. “A” stated “Taylormade”. “C” finds a ball but it is a Titleist, but “A” states
that is their ball. “A” plays the ball towards the green. Just short of the green of
the same hole, “A” notices that the ball is NOT the correct ball. “A” continued
play with found ball and should have been assessed a 2-stroke penalty. Player B
(captain of team) conceded hole due to Match Play ruling rather than Stroke Play
ruling.

PENALTY: 2 STROKES to be added to Player A stroke count for the hole
where the wrong ball was played.

Player A should have VERIFIED that ball was actually the correct ball.

USGA Rule: 12-2: MARK the location of the ball with tee, announce to everyone that
you are lifting ball for identification purposes. Replace ball as close to same condition as
you found it, do not clean ball.

USGA RULE 15: 15-3B (Wrong Ball)
http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Rule-15/

b. Stroke Play

If a competitor makes a stroke or strokes at a wrong ball, he incurs a penalty of two
strokes.

The competitor must correct his mistake by playing the correct ball or by proceeding
under the Rules. If he fails to correct his mistake before making a stroke on the next
teeing ground or, in the case of the last hole of the round, fails to declare his intention to
correct his mistake before leaving the putting green, he is disqualified.

USGA RULE 31: 31-6 (Wrong Ball)

http://swga.sandia.gov/Modified 4 ball stroke play-1.pdf

If a competitor makes a stroke at a wrong ball that is not in a hazard, he incurs a
penalty of two strokes and must correct his mistake by playing the correct ball or by
proceeding under the Rules. His partner incurs no penalty even if the wrong ball
belongs to him.

If the wrong ball belongs to another competitor, its owner must place a ball on the
spot from which the wrong ball was first played. (USGA) (SWGA)
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